- Edit flow settings
- Add, edit, and remove steps
- Add, edit, and remove flow questions
- Add, edit, and remove business rules to the flow, steps, and questions
- License and unlicense the flow
When you make changes to a flow, you must click save for the changes to be applied. It’s best practice to save the flow regularly while you’re working on it.

What’s what in the flow designer
There are many actions within the flow designer:- The first part of the screen is the flow itself. At the very top you see the flow’s name. Below that you’ll see steps (in bold); they all have a check-box beside them.
- A parallel group is highlighted in blue and contains the words “parallel group” as part of the name. The questions within each step are indented and also have check-boxes beside them. You can use drag-and-drop to move steps and questions around.
- Use the arrows to expand or collapse the contents of a flow, step, or parallel group.
- Click X to exit the flow. Any changes you haven’t saved will be lost.
- The options panel is split into four sections and is context sensitive. The options vary depending on whether you’ve selected the flow, a step, a parallel group, or a question. This is described in more detail below.
- Whenever you make changes to the flow, remember to click save if you want to submit the changes; alternatively click close (this won’t save any unsaved changes, but you’ll be prompted to confirm, to avoid accidentally closing the flow designer).
- You can use the search box to search rules and questions by their names or codes (for example: Question - Holiday Request Details, Rule - Hide Step Date). Note: searching for footer questions within a repeating table isn’t supported.
Toolbar
The first part of the options panel is a toolbar:* these icons will only appear if the feature has been activated on the site
Summary
The second part of the options panel is the summary. The summary varies depending on whether you’re viewing a flow, step, question, or sub-question in a repeating table. The summary is always read-only and only displays high-level information.


Defined rules
The defined rules are context specific, so what you see relates directly to the flow, step, or question. If no rules have been defined for the relevant item, nothing will appear when you click on the drop-down arrow. You can do the following directly from this menu:- disable/enable rule
- copy rule
- edit rule
- delete rule

Add rules
You can Add rules to a flow, step, or question. The possible rules are context specific, so for a flow or step you’ll see six categories: workflow control, data integration, communications, SharePoint actions, permissions, and repeating table. For a question, you’ll see five categories: workflow control, data integration, SharePoint actions, permissions, and repeating table. Shown below, when adding a rule to a step, click + beside the relevant rule type to start adding a new rule. Once complete, this rule will appear in the defined rules list.

